Why Our Church

HISTORY
 
Forest Grove Christian Church began in local homes in the Lucas. TX area in 1847–48 with members of the Church of Christ (Christian Church). It was formally organized as a church on July 23, 1858. The names of the founders are also found among the pioneers of Collin County. The first church building was dedicated in 1875, and it was replaced in 1953. The church closed on April 8, 1984, but reopened on October 11, 1992. In 2013, the church began the process of ending its affiliation with the Disciples of Christ and becoming an independent Non-Denominational Bible Church. In the summer of 2018, the church officially changed its name to Forest Grove Church, embracing its rich heritage yet envisioning a bright new future.
 
MISSION
Forest Grove Church exists to glorify God by making disciples of all people and teaching them to become more like Christ. Our discipleship process has three components: expository preaching, covenantal church membership, and mission engagement.